Until…

Until you believe in me,

take a walk in my shoes.

Until you feel my joy,

you will use your eyes to see through me.

Until you pay my dues,

you will abuse words like

“you should have, I told you so, and what can’t you let go.”

You don’t know!

Until you scrape my skin you will not feel the fear in my black skin.

Until you face reality,

I am the image you fight against.

Do you know what it’s like to live without lights?

Wake up in darkness in broad daylight.

Don’t answer yet, think twice!

This facade is the mystery of my joy,

my pain,

my struggle.

A mixture of fear,

and the confidence to remove doubt.

Until I listen to me I will constantly lend an ear to you.

And when I do my thoughts influence your complaints and taint my views.

Until I allow God to uncover my heart I build with frustration.

A beautiful mind, misinterpreted.

2 thoughts on “Until…

  1. Torri says:

    Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm….glory!!! Love this!! Also change the first line…Take a walk in
    my shoes

Leave a Reply

